The best things in life are….

free….. as the saying goes and there’s another…..money can’t buy you happiness.

I read an interview with an elderly woman the other day about how she had led a positive and happy life, she said it was important to remember the things that make us happy don’t generally cost money.

Like everyone else – money does indeed buy me happiness when the H&M catalogue has just landed through my door and I see those red shoes that I NEED!!!!  However…. it got me thinking about what we can do for free that makes us feel good about ourselves.

This is what I came up with this week as I took notice of those things that happened to me that make me feel happy and healthy but cost nothing….

Drinking water, lots of it

Saying hello and thank you

Walking miles in the mountains

Hugs

Picking blackberries

Running with friends at dusk

Lying down and watching the clouds

Telling the people you love that you …. love them

Kisses (with mutually agreed participants of course!)

Spending proper time with friends/family (putting your phone down!)

Getting up close to animals – dogs/cows/hedgehogs whatever….

Meditating.. when I remember to do this even for a few minutes a day I feel much less stressed

Looking.  Really looking at that beautiful view

Letting your mind wander  (harder than it sounds!)

Paddling in rivers on hot sticky days

Have you got any more?

You may think I’m over egging it but so many of us are skint and living to, or beyond our means….we think if we could only have that we’d be happy……..but there really is so much out there already, for free, making today a better today.

It comes from within and the only cost is a little imagination.

Happy Sunday everyone

X lots of love X

Dwys x 

 

free

 

Leave a Reply

