Hated by the Daily Mail. Thankfully.

I really really want my blog to be as positive as it can be. I rant quite a lot about things which I find unfair in life but here I thought I’d try to keep it light as much as possible but you can’t run away from yourself can you?! I’m incensed. Completely incensed. The Daily Mail with its hideous front page today blaming the death of those children on the fact their dad was on benefits – ‘vile product of the welfare society’ is what I think it said. I haven’t looked at it again. It actually made me cry a bit.

I’ve worked with women who have been affected by domestic abuse for years, I have been affected by domestic abuse for years. If there is one message in my work and in life that was top of the list in importance was that there are no excuses for violence. You are not violent due to drink or health issues or whether you are rich or poor. People make a decision to be violent, drunk and sober, on benefits or not. People don’t become violent because they’re pissed, they use it as an excuse. People aren’t violent because they lost their job, it’s an excuse. We control what we do, perpetrators control what they do. This ‘paper’ has to take responsibility for misleading the public – giving an excuse to perpetrators and also giving so little hope to so many.

How many of you have had money from the state? Benefits? DLA? Child benefit? Working tax credit? ESA? Crisis loans? Council tax benefit? Housing benefit? Pension credits? Childcare benefit? If you are lucky enough to say no great – but one day you might? I’m not saying the benefit system isn’t without people who take advantage at times. That’s life. And it happens everywhere. Banks take advantage of us, MPs take advantage of our money, some people don’t pay their taxes, some people don’t disclose a second income, some people fiddle their expenses. People aren’t perfect.

However, Daily Mail has linked millions of people who rely on welfare benefit with murder and people will believe it and the government will love it because it gives them more reason to cut the benefit system and save them cash. I want to scream and shout, I think many people in this country are being sucked in to this myth and can’t see the complete unfairness around us. We know that MPs are living in 20 bedroomed houses with no fear of a bedroom tax, we know that MPs state on TV that they could live on £53 per week when we know they bloody can’t, we know that the houses of parliament serve a subsided menu to MPs who are earning at least three times more than the average wage of the country, we know that banks are still paying millions in bonuses to bad managers. Most people won’t do anything because it doesn’t directly affect them. I can’t be like that and yes you might find me annoying (I can be fun too honestly!).

I’m just saying we can all do our bit for a fair society. Fair. That’s all.

Please complain about the Daily Mail here. Please.
http://www.pcc.org.uk/complaints/makingacomplaint.html

3 thoughts on “Hated by the Daily Mail. Thankfully.

Leave a Reply

